Tag Archives: facts about great britain

England win: England 6 Germany 3

14 May

England team in Germany 1938

Interesting facts about England; This day in 1938 England played Germany, clashing just before the second World War (which started 16 months later). The game should have been remembered for the England win (6-3) and the magnificent venue of Berlin’s Olympic Stadium where around 110,000 went to watch the match.

Instead in a politicly correct stunt, the England team were ordered to give the Nazi Salute prior to the game (one does not want to offend). The resulting image sat painfully with a nation and the Nazi saluting players. Eddie Hapgood, England’s captain summed up his feelings “I’ve been in a shipwreck, a train cash, and inches short of a plane crash but the worst (thing) of my life was giving the Nazi salute in Berlin.”


List of British Prime Ministers

2 May

No 10 Downing Street

The following is a list of British Prime Ministers, including David Cameron who is Prime Minster after winning of the May 2010 elections.

Prime Ministers of England and Great Britain

April   1721  to February  1742 Sir Robert Walpole Whig
February  1742 to July  1743 Spencer Compton, 1st Earl of Wilmington Whig
August  1743 to March  1754 Henry Pelham Whig
March 1754 to November  1756 Thomas Pelham-Holles, Whig
November  1756 to June  1757 William Cavendish, Duke of Devonshire Whig
July  1757 to May  1762 Thomas Pelham-Holles, 1st Duke of Newcastle Whig
May  1762 to April  1763 John Stuart, 3rd Earl of Bute Tory
April  1763 to July  1765 George Grenville Whig
July  1765 to July  1766 Charles Watson-Wentworth Whig
July  1766 to October  1768 William Pitt, 1st Earl of Chatham Whig
October  1768 to January  1770 Augustus Henry Fitzroy, Duke of Grafton Whig
January  1770 to March  1782 Frederick North, Lord North Tory
March  1782 to July  1782 Charles Watson-Wentworth Whig
July  1782 to April  1783 William Petty, 2nd Earl of Shelburne Whig
April  1783 to December  1783 Frederick North, Lord North, Charles Fox Whig
December  1783 to March  1801 William Pitt The Younger Tory
March  1801 to May  1804 Henry Addington Tory
May  1804 to January  1806 William Pitt the Younger Tory
February  1806 to March  1807 William Wyndham Grenville,  Whig
March  1807 to October  1809 William Cavendish-Bentinck, Tory
October  1809 to May  1812 Spencer Perceval Tory
June  1812 to April  1827 Robert Banks Jenkinson, 2nd Earl of Liverpool Tory
April  1827 to August  1827 George Canning Tory
August  1827 to January  1828 Frederick John Robinson, Visc. Goderich Tory
January  1828 to November  1830 Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington Tory
November  1830 to July  1834 Charles Grey, 2nd Earl Grey Whig
July 1834 to November  1834 William Lamb, 2nd Viscount Melbourne Whig
November  1834 to April  1835 Sir Robert Peel Tory
April  1835 to August  1841 William Lamb, 2nd Viscount Melbourne Whig
August  1841 to June  1846 Sir Robert Peel Tory
June  1846 to February  1852 Lord John Russell, later 1st Earl Russell Whig
February  1852 to December  1852 Edward Smith Stanley Conservative
December  1852 to February  1855 George Hamilton Gordon,  Peelite/Coalition
February  1855 to February 1858 Henry John Temple, Visc. Palmerston Whig
February  1858 to June  1859 Edward Geoffrey Smith Stanley Conservative
June  1859 to October  1865 Henry John Temple, Visc. Palmerston Liberal
October  1865 to June  1866 John Russell, 1st Earl Russell Liberal
June  1866 to February  1868 Edward Geoffrey Smith Stanley, Conservative
February  1868 to December 1868 Benjamin Disraeli Conservative
December  1868 to February  1874 William Ewart Gladstone Liberal
February  1874 to April  1880 Benjamin Disraeli  Conservative
April  1880 to June  1885 William Ewart Gladstone Liberal
June  1885 to February  1886 Robert Talbot Gascoyne-Cecil, Conservative
February  1886 to July  1886 William Ewart Gladstone Liberal
August  1886 to August  1892 Robert  Talbot Gascoyne-Cecil, Conservative
August  1892 to March  1894 William Ewart Gladstone Liberal
March  1894 to June  1895 Archibald Philip Primrose, Earl of Rosebery Liberal
June  1895 to July  1902 Robert Talbot Gascoyne-Cecil, Conservative/Unionist
July  1902 to December  1905 Arthur Balfour Conservative/Unionist
December  1905 to April  1908 Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman Liberal
April  1908 to May  1915 Herbert Henry Asquith Liberal
May  1915 to December  1916 Herbert Henry Asquith Liberal/Coalition
December  1916 to October  1922 David Lloyd George Liberal/Coalition
October  1922 to May  1923 Andrew Bonar Law Conservative
May  1923 to January  1924 Stanley Baldwin Conservative
January  1924 to November  1924 Ramsay MacDonald Labour
November  1924 to June  1929 Stanley Baldwin Conservative
June  1929 to August 1931 Ramsay MacDonald Labour
August  1931 to June  1935 Ramsay MacDonald  Labour/National Government
June  1935 to May  1937 Stanley Baldwin Conservative/National Government
May  1937 to May 1940 Neville Chamberlain Conserv./National Government
May  1940 to July  1945 Winston Churchill Conservative/Coalition Government
July  1945 to October  1951 Clement Attlee Labour
October  1951 to April  1955 Sir Winston Churchill Conservative
April  1955 to January  1957 Sir Anthony Eden Conservative
January  1957 to October  1963 Harold Macmillan Conservative
October  1963 to October  1964 Sir Alec Douglas-Home Conservative
October  1964 to June  1970 Harold Wilson Labour
June  1970 to March  1974 Edward Heath Conservative
March  1974 to April  1976 Harold Wilson Labour
April  1976 to May 1979 James Callaghan Labour
May  1979 to November  1990 Margaret Thatcher Conservative
November  1990 to May  1997 John Major Conservative
May  1997 to June 2007 Tony Blair Labour
June 2007 to Gordon Brown Labour